Return to Kabbalah for Beginners
Sort By::
Page of 2
Click to see more items


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Great Introduction! April 1, 2011
Reviewer: Patty Breton from Edmonton, AB Canada  
This is a great introduction to authentic Kabbalah and is an expanded version of Kabbalah Revealed, also by Rav Laitman.  Starting with the History of Kabbalah and highlights of some of the greatest teachers of Kabbalah, this book continues with an easy-to-understand explanation of the wisdom of Kabbalah and an interesting discussion about reality, and concludes with a section called Crisis and Correction.  At the end of the book is a section on Frequently Asked Questions about Kabbalah which is also worth exploring.

The writing is clear, conversational, and flows easily.  Interspersed throughout the book are numerous quotes from renowned Kabbalists that further expound on the topic at hand.  I found this a thoroughly enjoyable read and would recommend it to anyone exploring authentic Kabbalah.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Excellent choice for anyone new to Kabbalah December 21, 2010
Reviewer: sally stroud from klamath falls, OR United States  
Kabbalah for Beginners is a powerful little book based on the lectures of Dr. Michael Laitman.
It speaks of spiritual perspectives and roots of our behavior and nature's laws.
It took me thru all the stages needed to answer the most basic questions of why - why am I here - why now - like this? I found The Dark Before the Dawn (part 4 ch. 6) most fitting for our time. I bookmarked the section to read and read again as events unfold daily. It's that useful for me. The subjects covered in appendix 1 are so full of inspiration it could be a book in itself. The wisdom in Kabbalah for Beginners has presented all the information, background and solutions to enlighten and uplift the mind and spirit for anyone who reads it. I think this is an important book for anyone who is looking for a sound basis in Kabbalah.


Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Kabbalah for Beginners September 1, 2009
Reviewer: Kristi Alam from Panama City Beach, FL United States  
Kabbalah for Beginners is a wonderful book to start learning about the fundamental concepts of Kabbalah.  It starts with a brief history of Kabbalah.  Reminding us that at one time people knew that only one force governed our world and we were one soul. We were more spiritual, each one helping the other for the betterment of the whole. It explains how we left the path of spirituality and evolved to the world we know today.  Now, each of us work independent of the other; looking for a way to get ahead of everyone else.  We no longer care about our neighbors. As long as we are taken care of, the world is a wonderful place, for a while. Once we reach this point, where we are looking for something to make sense of this world, we find Kabbalah.  By simplifying the Kabbalistic terminology and breaking down the different phases of creation, Kabbalah for Beginners shows us how important it is to get back to spirituality, for everyone's benefit.


Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 February 28, 2009
Reviewer: Nicole DeMerchant from St. Louis, MO, United States  
For anyone seeking meaning in their lives or anyone who feels that have yet to find a purpose to their existence I hope they are fortunate enough to find a book written by Michael Laitman. I have found that while they all speak of the same thing; each has something new to offer the reader. The first part of this book speaks about the origin and history of Kabbalah which may peak the interest of any history buff or anyone interested in understanding what Kabbalah says about the creation of mankind. As with any book (and this one is less than 200 pages) the historical perspective feels incomplete, but it provides enough information to lead the reader on their own quest for information.

I've found that few people know or have any working understanding of what Kabbalah is about and what they do know is not what Laitman or his organization, Bnei Baruch, teaches. The second part of this book is appropriately named "the gist." There is no mention of red strings and evil eyes as we've heard about in trendy magazines and on television. It does provide exactly what it suggests; a general description of what Kabbalah is all about. The rest of the book deals with "Reality" and "Correction" and also provides a section with common questions and answers. Any serious student of Kabbalah will tell you that further reading and study materials are necessary, but this is a good place to start.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 February 27, 2009
Reviewer: Tiago Pinto from Lisboa, Portugal  
This is probably my favourite begginers book, it provides quick answers in a clear and compreehensive way to basic concepts as light, kli and vessel as well as an introductory history lesson on Kabbalah which is great!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 January 22, 2009
Reviewer: Jim McClaren from St. Louis, MO, United States  
It'd a fair guess that 99% of humanity has no idea what kabbalah is. Reliable books on the subject aimed at the general public just started appearing as late as 1995. This book: "Kabbalah for Beginners", was written by Michael Laitman - one of the foremost kabbalists living today. In it's short 64 pages it explains kabbalah correctly, setting the right course for future study. There is also information on how to study and where to get instruction. If you've never heard of Kabbalah or are wondering what it's all about I highly recommend this book.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 September 22, 2008
Reviewer: Judy Hobart from St Louis, MO, United States  
You've heard about it on TV, maybe you saw some chatter about it on websites and blogs,
but you never took the time to investigate. Here you will find a good, understandable
explanation of what all the chatter is about.

Kabbalah for Beginners will help you sort through your confusion. This book will help you down the path to understanding why we all act the way we do. You will find in this book the current essential
principals of the wisdom of Kabbalah and a description of how these principals work.

Kabbalah for Beginners will help you to understand the reasons for suffering and pleasure. Most people would not even consider taking a trip to the unknown without an experienced tour guide. Consider this book just that guide. It will help those who really would like to take charge of their lives, taking you on a trip to improving your life. It will guide you through making your life better , more exciting and the wonderful journey it was meant to be.

The book will cover the history of Kabbalah as experienced in this physical world. It will explore the origin and structure of reality; also will examine your inner realty. A great little book to clear up any confusion or misconceptions you might have previously about this wonderful wisdom of Kabbalah.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 September 9, 2008
Reviewer: Ace Koksal from Sydney, Australia  
I recommend this book to anyone looking for the true meaning of their life. I found Kabbalah for Beginners was very easy to read and follow. This book has alot to offer to all of humanity. I have never understood the purpose of my life, but after reading this book I understand that all Creatures living on this planet need to unite! This is the only way for us to live in harmony, if we don't change ourselves the world will not change for the better. We see that egoism has reached such intensity, this is the underlying basis for all the pain and suffering humanity is experiencing. We all have a misunderstanding of Nature's rules, the way we can minimize our suffering is by applying The Wisdom of Kabbalah. Kabbalah is a Science a Methodology we can follow and apply in our day to day lives. Kabbalah is a method that can help transform our egoism into altruism, living together as one and not feeling separated. Anyone that is looking for the Truth, look no further this book has it all.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 July 29, 2008
Reviewer: Sandra Armstrong from Chesterfield, MO, United States  
This was one of the first books, if not the very first book I read when I began to study Kabbalah. I could not put it down, as it opened up a new world to me, and my soul rejoiced!! It is fascinating..... Rav Laitman gives an overview of the history and teaching lineage of Kabbalah, and begins with the very basic premise of the thought of Creation, always guiding the reader deeper into the "meat" of the subject without losing the beginner in terminology. Throughout the chapters, there are little indented paragraphs (denoted by a smiley face with mortarboard!) that give more detail concerning a concept or idea that has been presented. I found these very helpful as a new student. The book also contains three Appendices. Appendix 1 is a FAQ section that answered some of the questions I had also, Appendix 2 gives the reader some suggestions for further reading, and Appendix 3 is information about Bnei Baruch.

The best thing about this book, and all books by Rav Laitman is that he conveys his love of Kabbalah and the important role it plays in his life. Through his passion and dedication, he inspires the reader to "come and see" what Kabbalah is all about. I would encourage would be readers to do just that, starting with this lovely little book.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 July 10, 2008
Reviewer: Trenell Ladd from Hyattsville, MD, United States  
This is a excellent straight to the point book divided into four parts for the Kabbalah begineer. Also a great book for someone curious about the truth behind authentic Kabbalah. The history of the early Kabbalists in the first part of the book are truly wondrous stories. This is a great book for introducing the wisdom of Kabbalah.

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items